Seniors named 2024 National Merit Finalists

Fox Chapel Area School District  |  Posted on

The Fox Chapel Area High School National Merit Finalists are, from left to right, Dylan Work, Abraham White, Chloe Kim, Shriya Krishnamurthy, Adhitya Thirumala and Lucas Gravina.

Six Fox Chapel Area High School seniors have been designated as National Merit Finalists in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program. The Finalists from Fox Chapel Area High School are Lucas Gravina, Chloe Kim, Shriya Krishnamurthy, Adhitya Thirumala, Abraham White and Dylan Work.

These Fox Chapel Area High School students were named Semifinalists in September 2023 and have met all the requirements to advance to Finalist standing in the competition for National Merit Scholarships. The students are selected as Finalists based on their Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) scores and other factors, including SAT and/or ACT scores, a student essay, a school recommendation, and having an outstanding academic record throughout high school.

Each year college-bound 11th-grade students complete the PSAT/NMSQT. All the students who take this test are automatically enrolled in the National Merit Scholarship Program and approximately 15,000 advance to become Finalists. The Finalists represent less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors and compete for some 7,140 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered this spring.