PSAT/NMSQT high scorers

Fox Chapel Area School District  |  Posted on

Thirty Fox Chapel Area High School rising seniors are among the 50,000 highest-scoring participants on the 2023 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) and have met the requirements to enter the 2025 National Merit Scholarship Program. The students are: Omar Al-Bataineh, Murugan Ayyanar, David Black, Anna Delale-O’Connor, Noelle Dick, Maya DiPasquale, Benjamin Fiedler, Alaina Hershey, Owen Howell, Rayna Huang, Moonyoung Hwang, Etash Jhanji, Patton Johnson, Alex Kim, Evan Krieg, Arnim Kuchhal, Nathan Mackey, Devon McDonald, Noah Miller, Zhana Neumann, Pierce Osterholm, Rachel Pegher, Hyunoh Ro, Caleb Shirk, David Sorisio, Rohit Velankar, Mya Wilson, Caterina Wu, JinLiang Zhang, and Yuqi Zhou.

More than 1.3 million students took the 2023 PSAT/NMSQT and these Fox Chapel Area students are among the 50,000 highest-scoring participants on that test from across the nation and have shown outstanding academic potential.

Approximately 16,000 of these highest scoring students will be named National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists in September 2024, representing the top scorers in each state, and approximately 34,000 of the students will be commended for their performance on the PSAT/NMSQT. The Semifinalists will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for about 7,140 Merit Scholarship awards to be offered in 2025.