NHS welcomes new members

Meyersdale Area School District  |  Posted on

The MAHS NHS Chapter welcomed new members on May 1.

The Meyersdale Area High School chapter of National Honor Society welcomed new members into their ranks during an induction ceremony held May 1 in the high school auditorium. Parents/guardians, families, friends, students, staff and faculty attended the ceremony.

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. Created in 1921, NHS recognizes students who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship, service, leadership and character. The Meyersdale chapter, which was founded in 1928, is under the direction of Mrs. Bree Yoder, and is very active within our district and our community. Annual service events include Mini-THON, Blooms of Hope, community clean-up days and many other events and activities.

The following students were inducted into this prestigious organization: Abigail Hare, Kenna McClure, Arianna Shaffer, Jessa DuPont, Emilee Stewart, Madison Hummelbaugh, Ryan Sechler, Joseph Comfort, Lilah Topper, Kylah Adriance, James Kretchman, Hunter Smiley, Hope Canfield, Hannah Roush, Landon Wilt, Bailey Knotts, Calen Simpkins, Amber Long, Maria Housel, Allison Creegan, Jaylynn Anderson, Jackson Kelly, Tiani Christner, Malia Sines, Jessica Daughton, Karter Schurg and Katie Schurg.

Consideration and acceptance into the NHS is determined in several areas of qualification, including scholarship, service, leadership and character. Newly inducted members of the Meyersdale NHS chapter must have a minimum GPA of 3.3 to be considered. Then, faculty and staff evaluate candidates in the areas of character and leadership. Finally, inductees must demonstrate evidence of prior volunteerism to the school and to their community to be approved for induction.

After approval for induction, inductees must compose essays on one of the four cornerstones which are then teacher-evaluated and selected for reading at the ceremony. The cornerstones are character, service, leadership and scholarship. Emilee Stewart shared her essay on scholarship. Arianna Shaffer presented her essay on character. Madison Hummelbaugh spoke about leadership and Jaylynn Anderson shared her essay on the importance of service.

The guest speaker for the ceremony was Brooke McKenzie. McKenzie is a dedicated Licensed Clinical Social Worker who has spent her career helping those struggling with addiction. A lifelong resident of Meyersdale, Pennsylvania, Brooke graduated from Meyersdale High School in 1998 as a member of the National Honor Society. She went on to earn her Bachelor’s degree from the University of Pittsburgh, followed by a Master’s degree in social work.

For the past twenty years, Brooke has worked in addiction treatment throughout the local Somerset County area. Through her compassionate counseling and commitment to her clients’ well-being, she has helped countless individuals overcome substance abuse issues and rebuild their lives. When not at work, Brooke enjoys spending time with her three children and three dogs at her home in Meyersdale. She is grateful to have the opportunity to both live and work in the community where she was raised, and give back through her meaningful career in social services.

The ceremony concluded with the traditional candle-lighting ceremony as last year’s inductees lit the candles of the new members.

The following current members welcomed the new inductees: Laurel Daniels, Shelby Deal, Izabella Donaldson, Marcella Dupre, Kyley Emerick, Allyson Gray, Bryson Hetz, Zoe Hetz, Mason Jeffries, Mahaley Knopsnyder, Avery Logsdon, Brady McKenzie, Eli Miller, Maci Moore, Alexis Mostoller, Gracie Paulman, Anna Stewart and Morgan Walters.