Choirs perform in Smoky Mountain Music Festival

Seneca Valley School District  |  Posted on

Choirs at Smoky Mountains

Seneca Valley choir students in grades 8-12 traveled to the Great Smoky Mountains to compete in a music festival at the Gatlinburg Convention Center in Tennessee. Prior to traveling, they learned about this area of the country through investigating and performing many mountain-themed songs such as “The Blue Ridge,” “Lift Thine Eyes to the Mountains” and even “Rocky Top.”

The students were rewarded with a beautiful day at Dollywood Amusement Park, where former SV choral student Reagan Curry works as a performer. They also visited the Titanic and Alcatraz Museums, shopped at Pigeon Forge Island, walked a trail to a waterfall in the mountains, and enjoyed a dinner show at the Dolly Stampede. They made memories to last a lifetime!

Six Seneca Valley Choirs spent many hours competing and brought home fabulous ratings and trophies! The competition at the Smoky Mountain Music Festival included schools from 12 different states. SV groups brought back three first-place trophies, three second-place trophies, five Superior ratings (the highest rating given), and one Excellent rating. In addition to the ensemble ratings and rankings, individual awards were also given. SV students had more individual awards than any other school!

Certificates of Excellence were awarded to:
Outstanding Vocal Solo Award: Natalie Palmer, Callum Williams, Connor Benson
Outstanding Solo/Trio: Allison Frankhouser, Ella Gemperlein, Emma Zelesnak
Outstanding Percussion: Autumn Holmes, Lilia Maschmeier
Outstanding Guitar Solo: Graham Logue
Men’s Choir – Superior Rating and First Place
Treble Choir – Superior Rating and First Place
Madrigal Choir – Superior Rating and Second Place
9/10 Choral Union – Superior Rating and First Place
Concert Choir – Superior Rating and Second Place
Grade 8 Choir – Excellent Rating and Second Place
SV secondary choirs are under the direction of Ms. Bobi-Jean Alexander, Ms. Claire Barker and Ms. Chessa Fernandez-Crum.