Seneca Valley FIRST LEGO leagues lead the way

Seneca Valley School District  |  Posted on

SV Lego Lords

Seneca Valley robotics teams were geared up for the challenges ahead as they competed in the FIRST LEGO League (FLL) Western Pennsylvania Grand Championship at Aliquippa High School last month. Approximately 65 teams of students in grades 4-8 participated in the robotics competition. Seneca Valley’s FIRST LEGO Lords team from Haine Elementary earned the “Elementary Excellence Award,” by scoring as the top elementary school team.

Each team competed in four rounds of the table robot challenge game, where the students designed, built and programmed a robot to solve various challenges on a competition board. In addition, each team gave a presentation to a panel of judges, describing their robot, programming design, game play strategy and research project.

FIRST LEGO League introduces science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) to children ages 4-16 through fun, exciting hands-on learning. FIRST LEGO League participants gain real-world problem-solving experiences through a guided, global robotics program, helping today’s students and teachers build a better future together.

Participating Seneca Valley teams included Raider Robotics FLL from Ryan Gloyer Middle School (RGMS), coached by RGMS industrial technology teacher, Ms. Mary Boburczak; SV Crest Frogs from Ehrman Crest Middle School, SV Circuit Breakers from Haine Middle School and SV FIRST LEGO Lords from Haine Elementary School were coached by Haine Middle School math teacher, Ms. Jen Exler and Haine Elementary School gifted support teacher, Mr. Jeremiah Friday.

Team members from SV FIRST LEGO Lords are fourth graders Reese Abraham, Addy Callis, Lily Feitl, Nora Grider, Elena Hamilton, Tommy Loggans, Nathan Maravich, Ryan Myers, Aria O’Brien, Maya Pospistle and Quinn Vogan. Team members from the SV Crest Frogs are sixth graders Micah Eiler, Ella Ivin, Cameron Johnson, Charlie Kling, Gabriel Kukkonen, Sebastian Osche, Austin Sperry and Zachary Sypien. Team members from the SV Circuit Breakers are sixth graders Andrew Kocerka, Josh Amato, Moorthy Mahrajan, Cole Diefenderfer, Lucio Impellizzeri, Gavin Draskovich, Dean Uplinger, Geethika Chukka, Eoin McCarthy, Viren Hodachalli and Nick LaGamba. Team members from the Raider Robotics are seventh graders Hayden Shupe, Elizabeth Schneider, Will Richart, Nathan Cox, Eddie Lakes, Charlotte Bogdan, Patience Bartley and Viktor Rogan along with eighth graders Serrah Beitch, Aidan Benvenuti, Liam Sharp, Jason Hoeltzel and Maya Maharajan.